Illinois State Physics Project

Founded in 1968


             Previous meetings are described below

                 March 2008  Chicago State University  
                February2008  Northeastern Illinois University
                January 2008  Elmhurst College
December 2007  DePaul University
                        October 2007   Loyola University
                        September 2007  Joliet West HS

                        June 2007  Museum of Science and Industry
                        May 2007  Northwestern University
                        April 2007  Lake Forest College
                        March  2007 Chicago State University
                2007February Meeting held at Northeastern (NEIU) &(map to Chicago State university)


Description of Organization

ISPP is a loose organization of High School, College, and University Physics Teachers in the Chicago Area who meet once a month , except November and July and August, at a host school to discuss teaching methods, lecture and lab demonstrations, and teaching techniques. We emphasize the use of phenomena to engage the student, so the presentations usually involve activities. 
Send any news or comments to Gerry Lietz at Physics Dept.,
DePaul University, 2219 N. Kenmore Ave, Chicago, IL
60614, USA  ...E-mail: 
Hosts and Officers
 Art Schmidt  Jan Dudzik  Paul Dolan
 Earl Zwicker Earl Swallow/Mark Timbro  Mike Kash, Bailey Donnally
 Kevin McCarron  Tom Senior   Chris Chiaverina
 Ruth Goehmann   Van Bistrow /Dennis Gordon   Ann Brandon/
Debbie Lojkutz
  Mel Sabella  Gerry Lietz  Roy Coleman
Gordon Ramsey     Pete Insley   John Milton
 Martha Lietz    
Paul Dolan



Gerry Lietz-retired from DePaul
847 328 5476 (home)
Earl Zwicker
ISPP Authors: Pete Insley 
John Milton,  Art Schmidt, Martha Lietz, Gerry Lietz
Data Base Managers: Roy Coleman, Earl Zwicker
Photographers: Gerry Lietz , Art Schmidt,  Paul Dolan, John Milton
Treasurers: Ann Brandon, Pete Insley

The Harald Jensen  Award for 2008.

Bruce Medic
 Glenbard West High School
Physics West

The Award was be presented   at the Lake Forest College meeting  in Spring. The award is given each year to a teacher with 10 or fewer years of teaching who inspires students 
 ( and colleagues ) with  his/her teaching.   The award is named after Harald Jensen.   Harald was a faculty member at Lake Forest College and had  been a high school Physics teacher as well, who was one of the most influential founders of ISPP and a wonderful teacher who used phenomena to inspire  and intrigue students.



Next Meeting- starts at 6:30PM with snacks and activities

Monday May 5, 2008  Northwestern University

Hosted by Art Schmidt and colleagues 

Map is in  Reminder with a link  posted at the top of this document.

Future Meetings are scheduled for:

 June  10 (T)  Museum of Science and Industry



Locations of Previous ISPP Meetings:
June 2007  Museum of Science and Industry
May 2007  Northwestern university
April      2007    Lake Forest College
March    2007     Chicago State University
February 2007-   Northeastern Illinois U
January  2007- Elmhurst College
December 2006-  De Paul University
Oct 2006 OakPark-River Forest HS
Sept 2006 New Trier -Northfield
June 2006  Museum of Science and Industry
May2006 Northwestern U 
April 2006   Lake Forest College
March 2006 Joliet West 
February 2006 NEIU
January 2006 Elmhurst College
 December,2005 DePaul University 
October,2005  New Trier HS
Sept. 2005   Morgan Park HS.
June 2005  Columbia College
May 2005- Northwestern University
April 2005- Lake Forest College
March 2005 University of Chicago
February 2005  NEIU
January 2005  Elmhurst College
December 2004  DePaul University
October 2004 Oak Park River forest HS
September 2004 Joliet West HS
Other locations have been  New Trier HS, Loyola University, Niles West HS, The Museum of Science and Industry, Morgan Park HS


Links to other sites  

        New Address Physics North West-  serving the Northwest suburbs.


This site is being maintained by Gerry Lietz,
on the Web server at DePaul University